Vox (ARC) by Christina Dalcher

Set to release on August 21, 2018, Vox is Christina Dalcher’s stunningly haunting debut novel. Set in a near-future United States in which half the population has been silenced, Vox is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial–this can’t happen here. Not in America. Not to her. This is just the beginning. Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard. But this is not the end.  For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.

Image result for vox christina dalcher

Continue reading

Advertisements

Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

“For every woman who has been told to sit down and be quiet… And who stood up anyway.”

Bold, brutal, and beautiful, Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart is set to release on July 31, 2018, and this powerfully feminist read promises to be a must-read fantasy full of fierce sisterhood, action, and political intrigue.

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison. Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace–someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir’s eye, it’s Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding. Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.

Image result for grace a fury tracy banghart

Continue reading

Dare You To Lie (ARC) by Amber Lynn Natusch

Set to release in North America on September 4, 2018, Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch features a quick-witted heroine, a fast-paced plot, and a twisty whodunit mystery will certainly keep readers on their toes. I was lucky enough to receive and Advance Review Copy of Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch from Raincoast Books as part of their Teens Read Feed Fall Preview Package – you can check out the entirety of the goodie bag at the end of this review!

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her. All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but her reappearance comes with its own consequences. Someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. With threats against her mounting, the FBI sends a rookie agent to tail her. More determined than ever to expose the town’s hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. Everyone thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

Image result for dare you to lie amber lynn natusch

Continue reading

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastien

When Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian was released in North America on April 24, 2018 it became an instant New York Times Bestseller – and with good reason! Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir, that delivers on all aspects!

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia’s family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess–a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner. For ten years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside. Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn’t always won on the battlefield. For ten years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

Image result for ash princess by laura sebastian

Continue reading

The Bookie Box June 2018 Unboxing

Exciting news, Bookworms! I am now officially a Rep for The Bookie Box, and that means that I will be featuring my unboxings here!

The Bookie Box is a Book Subscription Box that includes a newly released YA book, and 4-5 bookish goodies (including an exclusive candle and bookmark from That Bookie Bookmarks) every month. Past box themes have included Kingdoms and Dark Secrets, Magical Worlds, Vampires, Zombies, and Monsters – Oh My!, and Villains and Vengeance.

The July Theme is “Brutal Secrets and Conspiracies”, and it will a newly released YA book perfect for fans of The Illuminae Files, Divergent, The Hunger Games, and The Lunar Chronicles. Sounds awesome, right? If you’re interested in subscribing, be sure to check out their website and subscribe soon!

So what was in this month’s box?

Image result for the bookie box

Continue reading

MINI MONDAY: War Storm by Victoria Aveyard

On May 15, 2018, the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard came to a stunning conclusion with the release of the fourth book in the series, War Storm. In this epic conclusion to Victoria Aveyard’s stunning series, Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power . . . for all will be tested, but not all will survive.

Victory comes with a price. Mare Barrow learned this all too well when Cal’s betrayal nearly destroyed her. Now determined to protect her heart—and secure freedom for Reds and newbloods like her—Mare resolves to overthrow the kingdom of Norta once and for all . . . starting with the crown on Maven’s head. But no battle is won alone, and before the Reds may rise as one, Mare must side with the boy who broke her heart in order to defeat the boy who almost broke her. Cal’s powerful Silver allies, alongside Mare and the Scarlet Guard, prove a formidable force. But Maven is driven by an obsession so deep, he will stop at nothing to have Mare as his own again, even if it means demolish everything—and everyone—in his path. War is coming, and all Mare has fought for hangs in the balance. Will victory be enough to topple the Silver kingdoms? Or will the little lightning girl be forever silenced?

Image result for war storm victoria aveyard

Continue reading

June 2018 Reading List

Hi Bookworms!

After a very busy April and May, I am happy to report that I am now officially done university (next up: Convocation!), and I am now working. While this means that I am still relatively busy, I am hoping to find myself with a bit more time for reading, reviewing and photography, among other things.

I even managed to get a decent amount of reading done in May – I finished several books, including Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian, Stormcaster by Cinda Williams Chima, War Storm by Victoria Aveyard, A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J Maas, The Girl You Thought I Was by Rebecca Phillips, and The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen! I am hoping to have reviews available for all of those I haven’t yet reviewed in the next couple weeks, so stay tuned!

IMG_7286.JPG

After all that reading, my To Be Read basket is feeling a little empty! So (of course), I have once again put together what is undoubtedly an overly optimistic reading list for June 2018. This lists includes some books from previous months I simply haven’t had a chance t read yet, in addition to some exciting new releases!

MY JUNE 2018 READING LIST IS:

  1. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  2. Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett (Release Date: May 15, 2018)
  3. Legendary by Stephanie Garber (Release Date: May 29, 2018)
  4. LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff (Release Date: May 29, 2018)

  5. Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  6. Whisper of the Tide by Sarah Tolscer (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  7. City of Bastards by Andrew Shvartz (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  8. Eden Conquered by Joelle Charbonneau (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  9. Rage by Cora Carmack (Release Date: June 11, 2018)
  10. A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir (Release Date: June 12, 2018)

*Please note that the above listed release dates reflect Canadian/North American Book Releases, and may not be accurate for international locations. 

MINI MONDAY: The Girl You Thought I Was (ARC) by Rebecca Phillips

Set to release in North America on July 31st, 2018, The Girl You Thought I Was by Rebecca Phillips promised to be “a charming and poignant ode to the seasons of friendship, family, and love, and what happens when we dare to reveal our most messy selves” (Darcy Woods).

(Disclaimer: I received an Advanced Reader Copy of The Girl You Thought I Was by Rebecca Phillips from Harper Collins Canada in exchange for an honest review). 

No one looking at Morgan Kemper would think she had a secret-at least not one that she’s deeply ashamed of. To everyone she meets, she comes across as sweet, pretty, and put together. But Morgan knows that looks can be deceiving. For over a year, she’s shoplifted countless pieces of clothing and makeup. Each time she tells herself it will be the last, and each time it never is. But when she’s caught and sentenced to thirty hours of community service, the image Morgan has carefully constructed starts to crumble. She’s determined to complete her punishment without her friends discovering the truth about her sticky fingers, but that’s easier said than done…Especially once she meets Eli, the charming, handsome nephew of the owner of the charity shop where Morgan is volunteering. Soon, Morgan is faced with an impossible decision: continue to conceal the truth or admit that she’s lied to everyone in her life, including the boy she’s falling for.

Image result for the girl you thought i was rebecca phillips

Continue reading

To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Released in North America on March 6, 2018, To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo is an action-packed debut that will leave readers reeling – and in search of more swash-buckling pirates and deadly sirens to read about!

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever. The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

Image result for to kill a kingdom

Continue reading