Kingsbane (ARC) by Claire Legrand

Set to release on May 21, 2019, Kingsbane by Claire Legrand is the second of a planned three books in the Empirium Trilogy. Kingsbane continues the story of two strong, powerful young women who find themselves drawn into an age-old magical prophecy neither of them can escape – even hundreds of years apart.

DISCLAIMER: I received an Advance Review Copy of this book from Raincoast Books in exchange for an honest review.

Rielle Dardenne has been anointed Sun Queen, but her trials are far from over. The Gate keeping the angels at bay is falling. To repair it, Rielle must collect the seven hidden castings of the saints. Meanwhile, to help her prince and love Audric protect Celdaria, Rielle must spy on the angel Corien—but his promises of freedom and power may prove too tempting to resist. Centuries later, Eliana Ferracora grapples with her new reality: She is the Sun Queen, humanity’s long-awaited savior. But fear of corruption—fear of becoming another Rielle—keeps Eliana’s power dangerous and unpredictable. Hunted by all, racing against time to save her dying friend Navi, Eliana must decide how to wear a crown she never wanted—by embracing her mother’s power, or rejecting it forever.

Image result for kingsbane claire legrand

Continue reading

Advertisements

Opposite of Always (ARC) by Justin A Reynolds

Released on March 5, 2019, Opposite of Always by Justin A Reynolds promised to be a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling—hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack. But then Kate dies. And their story should end there. Yet Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind. Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

Related image

Continue reading

Tin Heart (ARC) by Shivaun Plozza

My third read during my March Break Read-a-Thon was Tin Heart by Shivaun Plozza, which was released in North America on March 12, 2019. Fans of Young Adult Contemporary novels and Romantic Comedies will love this one.

P.S. A big thank-you goes out to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Reading Copy of Tin Heart by Shivaun Plozza in exchange for an honest review.

When Marlowe gets a heart transplant and a second chance at life, all she wants to do is to thank her donor’s family. Maybe then she can move on. Maybe then she’ll discover who she is if she’s no longer The Dying Girl. But with a little brother who dresses like every day is Halloween, a vegan warrior for a mother, and an all-out war with the hot butcher’s apprentice next door, Marlowe’s life is already pretty complicated. And her second chance is about to take an unexpected turn…

Image result for tin heart shivaun plozza

Continue reading

Wicked Saints (ARC) by Emily A. Duncan

Next up in my reviews of the books I read during my March Break Read-a-Thon is Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan, which is set to release in North America on April 2, 2019. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy.

P.S. A big thank-you goes out to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Reader’s Edition of Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan in exchange for an honest review.

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself. A prince in danger must decide who to trust. A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings. Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war. In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light.

Image result for wicked saints

Continue reading

The Meaning of Birds (ARC) by Jaye Robin Brown

First up is The Meaning of Birds by Jaye Robin Brown, which is set to be released in North America on April 16, 2019. Told in alternating timelines, this story is a poignant portrait of love in the past, grief in the now, and the healing power of art. A beautiful exploration of first love and first loss, this novel effortlessly weaves together past and present to tell a profound story about how you can become whole again when it seems like you’ve lost the most important part of yourself.

P.S. A big thank-you goes out to HCC Frenzy for providing me with an Advance Reader’s Edition of The Meaning of Birds in exchange for an honest review.

Before: Jess has always struggled with the fire inside her. But when she meets Vivi, everything changes. As they fall for each other, Vivi helps Jess deal with her anger and pain and encourages her to embrace her artistic talent. And suddenly Jess’s future is a blank canvas, filled with possibilities. After: When Vivi unexpectedly dies, Jess’s perfect world is erased. As she spirals out of control, Jess pushes away everyone around her and throws out her plans for art school. Because art is Vivi and Vivi is gone forever. Right when Jess feels at her lowest, she makes a surprising friend who just might be able to show her a new way to channel her rage, passion, and creativity. But will Jess ever be able to forge a new path for herself without Vivi?

Image result for the meaning of birds jaye robin brown

Continue reading

March Break Read-a-Thon

Last week, I sat down and set a goal to read five (5) books during March Break (March 9 – March 17, 2019). Early on, this seemed a bit optimistic – even if I did have the week off work – but not entirely impossible. And as I quickly worked my way through book, after book, after book, it was rapidly evident that this was definitely a goal I could achieve. And I did! I finished my fifth book (Mirage by Somaiya Daud) on Saturday March 16, fulfilling my goal over 24 hours before the deadline I had set myself.

Therefore, throughout this week and next, I will be sharing my reviews for the five (5) books I read, in order of reading! So stay tuned, because there are lots of new and exciting book reviews on their way!

IMG_9452

Enchantée (ARC) by Gita Trelease

Enchantée is Gita Trelease’s debut fantasy about an orphaned girl who uses dark magic to save her sister and herself from ruin – no matter what the cost may be. Enchantée was released in North America on February 5, 2019, and it promised to be filled to the brim with treacherous magic, decadent romance, and revolutionary mayhem.

Paris is a labyrinth of twisted streets filled with beggars and thieves, revolutionaries and magicians. Camille Durbonne is one of them. She wishes she weren’t… When smallpox kills her parents, Camille must find a way to provide for her younger sister while managing her volatile brother. Relying on magic, Camille painstakingly transforms scraps of metal into money to buy food and medicine they need. But when the coins won’t hold their shape and her brother disappears with the family’s savings, Camille pursues a richer, more dangerous mark: the glittering court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette. Using dark magic forbidden by her mother, Camille transforms herself into a baroness and is swept up into life at the Palace of Versailles, where aristocrats both fear and hunger for magic. As she struggles to reconcile her resentment of the rich with the allure of glamour and excess, Camille meets a handsome young inventor, and begins to believe that love and liberty may both be possible. But magic has its costs, and soon Camille loses control of her secrets. And when revolution erupts, Camille must choose-love or loyalty, democracy or aristocracy, reality of magic-before Paris burns.

Image result for enchantee gita trelease

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Review Copy of Enchantée by Gita Trelease in exchange for an honest review. 

Continue reading

HCC #FrenzyPresents Spring Preview (2019-02-24)

This past Sunday (i.e.yesterday) I had the privilege – and pleasure – of attending the Harper Collins Canada #FrenzyPresents Spring Preview event in Toronto, Ontario. While I have previously been invited to this event, I have never been able to actually attend, so it was quite an exciting event for me! Not only did I get an in-depth preview of so many fantastic upcoming YA releases, but I also had the chance to meet several of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers, which was simply heartwarming. Truly, my heart is so full.

IMG_9399

HCC Frenzy also gifted all the attendees a fantastic Swag Bag, which was put together in partnership with Indigo Books & Music Inc., Owlcrate, Tealish, Da Bomb Bath Co., Sweet Artisan Candies, David’s Tea, and Golden Ticket Candy! Honestly, this Swag Bag was loaded to the brim with goodies, including 3 Advance Review Copies, including:

  • If You Can’t Beat the Odds Change the Game Pillowcase (Owlcrate)
  • Delicious Detox Tea (Tealish)
  • Blueberry Cheesecake Bath Bomb (Da Bomb Bath Co.)
  • Black Cherry Artisan Candies (Sweet Artisan Candies)
  • Salted Caramel Chews (Golden Ticket Candy)
  • The Evil Queen (Sampler) by Gena Showalter

I also received 3 ARCs in my Swag Bag – The Meaning of Birds by Jaye Robin Brown (Release Date: April 16, 2019), Nocturna by Maya Motayne (Release Date: May 7, 2019), and Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds (Release Date: March 5, 2019).

IMG_9402

Finally, a word to all my fellow bloggers (Canadian or not) – when I started this blog (and by extension my Bookstagram and Bookish Twitter accounts), I truly had no idea where this journey would take me. Because even though I didn’t realize it at the time, I had found my thing, and I had found my people. This community has grown to mean the world to me, and meeting so many of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers at the #FrenzyPresents event yesterday was like a dream. I am still floating on a high – because I simply cannot believe where this journey has taken me, and can’t wait to see where it will take me next.

GIVEAWAY – Courting Darkness Character Cards (February 10 – 15, 2019)

Hello Bookworms!

I have some very exciting news for you – Robin LaFevers sent Raincoast Books a goody bag of character card, and Raincoast Books wants to share them with Canadian fans of the His Fair Assassins trilogy and the Courting Darkness duology! And trust me – you’re going to want to get your hands on these character cards – they’re absolutely stunning!

Courting Darkness Giveaway

Continue reading