Vox (ARC) by Christina Dalcher

Set to release on August 21, 2018, Vox is Christina Dalcher’s stunningly haunting debut novel. Set in a near-future United States in which half the population has been silenced, Vox is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial–this can’t happen here. Not in America. Not to her. This is just the beginning. Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard. But this is not the end.  For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.

Image result for vox christina dalcher

Continue reading

Advertisements

Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

“For every woman who has been told to sit down and be quiet… And who stood up anyway.”

Bold, brutal, and beautiful, Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart is set to release on July 31, 2018, and this powerfully feminist read promises to be a must-read fantasy full of fierce sisterhood, action, and political intrigue.

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison. Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace–someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir’s eye, it’s Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding. Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.

Image result for grace a fury tracy banghart

Continue reading

Dare You To Lie (ARC) by Amber Lynn Natusch

Set to release in North America on September 4, 2018, Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch features a quick-witted heroine, a fast-paced plot, and a twisty whodunit mystery will certainly keep readers on their toes. I was lucky enough to receive and Advance Review Copy of Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch from Raincoast Books as part of their Teens Read Feed Fall Preview Package – you can check out the entirety of the goodie bag at the end of this review!

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her. All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but her reappearance comes with its own consequences. Someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. With threats against her mounting, the FBI sends a rookie agent to tail her. More determined than ever to expose the town’s hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. Everyone thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

Image result for dare you to lie amber lynn natusch

Continue reading

June 2018 FairyLoot Unboxing

FairyLoot is a monthly book subscription box that specializes in Young Adult Fantasy books, based out of London, England. Recent themes include “Oh So Regal” (December 2017)“Talk Faerie to Me” (January 2018), and “Save the Kingdom” (May 2018). Every month they have a different theme and select an exciting newly released fantasy novel, in addition to 4-6 hand selected goodies – like book inspired teas, candles, bookmarks, tote bags, and more!

So, how can you get a FairyLoot box of your own (because once you see the awesome books and all the awesome loot in them, I know you’ll want one too)? For more information, check out FairyLoot’s website!

AND, IF YOU DECIDE TO SUBSCRIBE? CHECK OUT MY FAIRYLOOT PAGE FOR CURRENT DISCOUNT CODES FOR 3 AND 6 MONTH SUBSCRIPTIONS!

So now, on to the exciting part – the unboxing! The theme for Junw 2018’s FairyLoot box was “Rebels in Ballgowns”! This box was inspired by stories where the main character is on a secret mission and has to dress up – think masquerade parties and elegant parties! There’s a TON of fantastic items, including a very highly anticipated new release that is getting fantastic reviews (and which won’t be released until July!) – and of course its filled with items inspired by popular YA novels, including Legendary by Stephanie Garber, The Selection by Kiera Cass, and Nevernight by Jay Kristoff!

(WARNING: SPOILERS FOR BOX CONTENTS PAST THIS POINT)

IMG_3876

Continue reading

July 2018 Reading List

Who else is celebrating the fact that the school year is over? I know I am! I’ve had an amazing few weeks at my first-ever teaching job, but jumping into teaching right after an exhausting (and rewarding) year of Teacher’s College means that I am more than ready for a bit of a break – even if I am still working at camp this summer!

I managed to get a decent amount of reading done in June – I finished several books, including They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera, Onyx and Ivory by Mindee ArnettThe Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke, Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh, and Whisper of the Tide by Sarah Tolscer.

While working at camp means that I am busy, I will not be nearly as busy as I was during school, which means that I am hoping to find myself with a bit more time for reading, reviewing and photography – among other things.

IMG_7502.JPG

I have once again put together what is undoubtedly an overly optimistic reading list for June 2018. This lists includes some books from previous months I simply haven’t had a chance to read yet, books I received for my birthday, and some exciting new releases I am hoping to get my hands on!

MY JULY 2018 READING LIST IS:

  1. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  2. The Defiant by Lesley Livingston (Release Date: January 23, 2018)
  3. Tess of the Road by Rachel Hartman (Release Date: February 27, 2018)
  4. Beyond a Darkened Shore by Jessica Leake (Release Date: April 10, 2018)
  5. Legendary by Stephanie Garber (Release Date: May 29, 2018)
  6. A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir (Release Date: June 12, 2018)
  7. Bright We Burn by Kiersten White (Release Date: July 10, 2018)
  8. Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik (Release Date: July 10, 2018)
  9. Sea Witch by Sarah Henning (Release Date: July 31, 2018)
  10. Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart (Release Date: July 31, 2018)

Please note that all release dates reflect release dates in North America, as listed by Indigo.

What will you be reading this month? Let me know!

The Boneless Mercies (ARC) by April Genevieve Tucholke

The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke is set to be released on October 2, 2018, and promises a story full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory. Early reviews promise that this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling – and who gets to be the storyteller. Basically, The Boneless Mercies  sounds perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies – girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life. When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies’ one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Image result for the boneless mercies book

Continue reading

MINI MONDAY: Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh

Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh is the highly anticipated sequel to New York Times bestselling Flame in the Mist. Released in North America on June 5, 2018, Smoke in the Sun is an addictive, sumptuous finale that will leave readers breathless.

After Okami is captured in the Jukai forest, Mariko has no choice–to rescue him, she must return to Inako and face the dangers that have been waiting for her in the Heian Castle. She tricks her brother, Kenshin, and betrothed, Raiden, into thinking she was being held by the Black Clan against her will, playing the part of the dutiful bride-to-be to infiltrate the emperor’s ranks and uncover the truth behind the betrayal that almost left her dead. With the wedding plans already underway, Mariko pretends to be consumed with her upcoming nuptials, all the while using her royal standing to peel back the layers of lies and deception surrounding the imperial court. But each secret she unfurls gives way to the next, ensnaring Mariko and Okami in a political scheme that threatens their honor, their love and the very safety of the empire.

Image result for smoke in the sun renee ahdieh

Continue reading

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastien

When Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian was released in North America on April 24, 2018 it became an instant New York Times Bestseller – and with good reason! Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir, that delivers on all aspects!

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia’s family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess–a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner. For ten years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside. Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn’t always won on the battlefield. For ten years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

Image result for ash princess by laura sebastian

Continue reading

The Bookie Box June 2018 Unboxing

Exciting news, Bookworms! I am now officially a Rep for The Bookie Box, and that means that I will be featuring my unboxings here!

The Bookie Box is a Book Subscription Box that includes a newly released YA book, and 4-5 bookish goodies (including an exclusive candle and bookmark from That Bookie Bookmarks) every month. Past box themes have included Kingdoms and Dark Secrets, Magical Worlds, Vampires, Zombies, and Monsters – Oh My!, and Villains and Vengeance.

The July Theme is “Brutal Secrets and Conspiracies”, and it will a newly released YA book perfect for fans of The Illuminae Files, Divergent, The Hunger Games, and The Lunar Chronicles. Sounds awesome, right? If you’re interested in subscribing, be sure to check out their website and subscribe soon!

So what was in this month’s box?

Image result for the bookie box

Continue reading