The Wicked King by Holly Black

Released in North America on January 8th, 2019, The Wicked King by Holly Black is the sequel to her massively popular The Cruel Prince, which was released last year.

“You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring. The first lesson is to make yourself strong” – The Wicked King, Holly Black

After the jaw-dropping revelation that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. Navigating the constantly shifting political alliances of Faerie would be difficult enough if Cardan were easy to control. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her even as his fascination with her remains undiminished. When it becomes all too clear that someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves, Jude must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world.

Image result for the wicked king

Continue reading

Advertisements

HCC #FrenzyPresents Spring Preview (2019-02-24)

This past Sunday (i.e.yesterday) I had the privilege – and pleasure – of attending the Harper Collins Canada #FrenzyPresents Spring Preview event in Toronto, Ontario. While I have previously been invited to this event, I have never been able to actually attend, so it was quite an exciting event for me! Not only did I get an in-depth preview of so many fantastic upcoming YA releases, but I also had the chance to meet several of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers, which was simply heartwarming. Truly, my heart is so full.

IMG_9399

HCC Frenzy also gifted all the attendees a fantastic Swag Bag, which was put together in partnership with Indigo Books & Music Inc., Owlcrate, Tealish, Da Bomb Bath Co., Sweet Artisan Candies, David’s Tea, and Golden Ticket Candy! Honestly, this Swag Bag was loaded to the brim with goodies, including 3 Advance Review Copies, including:

  • If You Can’t Beat the Odds Change the Game Pillowcase (Owlcrate)
  • Delicious Detox Tea (Tealish)
  • Blueberry Cheesecake Bath Bomb (Da Bomb Bath Co.)
  • Black Cherry Artisan Candies (Sweet Artisan Candies)
  • Salted Caramel Chews (Golden Ticket Candy)
  • The Evil Queen (Sampler) by Gena Showalter

I also received 3 ARCs in my Swag Bag – The Meaning of Birds by Jaye Robin Brown (Release Date: April 16, 2019), Nocturna by Maya Motayne (Release Date: May 7, 2019), and Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds (Release Date: March 5, 2019).

IMG_9402

Finally, a word to all my fellow bloggers (Canadian or not) – when I started this blog (and by extension my Bookstagram and Bookish Twitter accounts), I truly had no idea where this journey would take me. Because even though I didn’t realize it at the time, I had found my thing, and I had found my people. This community has grown to mean the world to me, and meeting so many of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers at the #FrenzyPresents event yesterday was like a dream. I am still floating on a high – because I simply cannot believe where this journey has taken me, and can’t wait to see where it will take me next.

Bloodwitch (ARC) by Susan Dennard

Today is Bloodwitch‘s “book birthday”, so it seemed quite fitting to share my review of Susan Dennard’s newest book today! Bloodwitch is the third full-length novel in Susan Dennard’s New York Times bestselling, young adult epic fantasy Witchlands series. Bloodwitch continues with the story of the Bloodwitch Aeduan, though all readers’ favourite characters are back in action – including Safiya, Iseult, Ryber, Merik, Vivia, and more.

High in a snowy mountain range, a monastery that holds more than just faith clings to the side of a cliff. Below, thwarted by a lake, a bloodthirsty horde of raiders await the coming of winter and the frozen path to destroy the sanctuary and its secrets. The Bloodwitch Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop the destruction. But to do so, he must confront his own father, and his past.

Image result for bloodwitch susan dennard

Continue reading

GIVEAWAY – Courting Darkness Character Cards (February 10 – 15, 2019)

Hello Bookworms!

I have some very exciting news for you – Robin LaFevers sent Raincoast Books a goody bag of character card, and Raincoast Books wants to share them with Canadian fans of the His Fair Assassins trilogy and the Courting Darkness duology! And trust me – you’re going to want to get your hands on these character cards – they’re absolutely stunning!

Courting Darkness Giveaway

Continue reading

Fire and Heist (ARC) by Sarah Beth Durst

Released in North America on December 4, 2018, Fire and Heist by Sarah Beth Durst introduces fans of the genre to a whole new world where humans and magic mingle. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Julie Kagawa will undoubtedly devour this contemporary fantasy about a teen were-dragon who must steal her first treasure – though this tale may not be fore everyone.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Indigo Books & Music Inc. for providing me with an Advance Review Copy of Fire and Heist by Sarah Beth Durst in exchange for an honest review. 

In Sky Hawkins’s family, leading your first heist is a major milestone–even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It’s a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you’re a wyvern–a human capable of turning into a dragon. Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family’s wealth and rank in their community. With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society–a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.

Image result for fire & heist

Continue reading

February 2019 Reading List

I know, I know – this list is a couple days late! Unfortunately the end of January was quite jam-packed, so it took me a few days to get this post together – though that is certainly no indicator of how excited I am for these February reads! my first reading list of 2019! After a successful month of reading in January (I managed to read over 12 books – I am not even sure how I managed that one!) I am excited to dive into all the fantastic new books being released in February!

I have quite a few books that I am excited to read in February, including some are older releases that I haven’t had a chance to read yet. Despite that, most are new releases I simply can’t wait to pick up (an honestly? It looks like February 5 is the most popular release day of 2019 so far!).

  1. King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo (Release Date: January 29, 2019)
  2. On the Come Up by Angie Thomas (Release Date: February 5, 2019)
  3. Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian (Release Date: February 5, 2019)
  4. Dark of the West by Joanna Hathaway (Release Date: February 5, 2019)
  5. Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers (Release Date: February 5, 2019)
  6. Enchantee by Gita Trelease (Release Date: February 5, 2019)
  7. Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard (Release Date: February 12, 2019)
  8. The Triumphant by Lesley Livingston (Release Date: February 12, 2019)
  9. The Afterward by E.K. Johnston (Release Date: February 19, 2019)
  10. Warrior of the Wild by Tricia Levenseller (Release Date: February 26, 2019)

What books are you most looking forward to reading in February?

Courting Darkness (ARC) by Robin LaFevers

Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers is the first in a new duology, set to release in North America on February 5, 2019. This darkly thrilling page-turner is set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series (also written by LaFevers), and is written with the same prowess and intrigue that LaFevers has brought to her previous novels.

DISCLAIMER: I received an Advance Review Copy of this book from Raincoast Books in exchange for an honest review.

Sybella has always been the darkest of Death’s daughters, trained at the convent of Saint Mortain to serve as his justice. But she has a new mission now. In a desperate bid to keep her two youngest sisters safe from the family that nearly destroyed them all, she agrees to accompany the duchess to France, where they quickly find themselves surrounded by enemies. Their one ray of hope is Sybella’s fellow novitiates, disguised and hidden deep in the French court years ago by the convent—provided Sybella can find them. Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she struggles to remember who she is or what she’s supposed to be fighting for. Her only solace is a hidden prisoner who appears all but forgotten by his guards. When tragedy strikes, she has no choice but to take matters into her own hands—even if it means ignoring the long awaited orders from the convent. As Sybella and Gen’s paths draw ever closer, the fate of everything they hold sacred rests on a knife’s edge. Will they find each other in time, or will their worlds collide, destroying everything they care about? 

Image result for courting darkness robin lafevers

Continue reading